About Us

Our Mission

The Iowa Extension Council Association serves as a vehicle for networking between county extension councils of Iowa, Iowa State University, and government leaders to promote and strengthen all local and statewide Extension programs.

IECA Staff

2021-22 IECA Officers

Any county extension council in the state of Iowa is eligible for membership.  County Extension Councils must pay yearly dues to be members of good standing.

Board of Directors
The Association is run by a 25-member board of directors.  Each region is represented by one director on the board serving a three-year term, with one-county regions being combined for board representation.

The board of directors is elected by the member counties each spring.  They are elected to three-year terms running from July 1 to June 30.  Any current member county may nominate one council member to run for the board of directors.  Nomination forms and a nomination Q&A sheet are under the forms link on the home page of this web site.

Year in Review 2020-2021
The IECA Year in Review is our annual report for FY21.  Take a look at the accomplishments we have made in support of county extension councils over the past year.

State of the Association - Nov. 20, 2021
IECA Executive Director Jennifer Vit shares the state of IECA as presented to the IECA Board of Directors on Nov. 20, 2021 in preparation for action planning for 2022-2025.

State of the Iowa Extension Council Association video title slide